This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the Marie Skłodowska-Curie Grant Agreement No. 956851.

Guy Van den Mooter

Guy Van den Mooter (°1964) obtained his Ph.D. in 1994 (university of Leuven – KU Leuven, pharmaceutical technology). Following a position as scientist at Janssen Research Foundation (Beerse, Belgium), he obtained a post-doctoral position at the laboratory of Pharmacotechnology and Biopharmacy at the university of Leuven. In 1999 he was appointed as assistant-professor, and since 2009 he is full professor at the faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences in the Drug Delivery and Disposition research group.

The focus of his research group is the formulation, process development and physical chemistry of drug-polymer solid dispersions, nanocrystals, mesoporous drug delivery systems, and colon specific drug delivery. The main objective is to explore the relationship between the formulation, the process applied and the performance in terms of stability and drug release. His research requires the use of processing technologies such as spray drying, hot melt extrusion, fluid bed coating, cryo-grinding, electrospraying,  and analytical techniques such as (modulated) differential scanning calorimetry, Dynamic mechanical analysis, X-ray powder diffraction, infrared spectroscopy, laser diffraction, dynamic light scattering, NMR (solution and solid state), and drug release testing.

He has published more than 300 full-length scientific papers in international peer-reviewed journals and several book chapters with ca. 12.000 citations. His H-index = 60.

In 2007, he co-founded the spin-off company Formac Pharmaceuticals.

Since 2019 he is section editor of the European Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences and editor of Pharmaceutics and Molecules.

He teaches courses of pharmaceutical technology, preformulation and physical chemistry in undergraduate and graduate programs. He is coordinator of the master program in industrial pharmacy.

He is member of the Belgian Pharmacopeia commission and member of the editorial board of several scientific journals.